you spat on me.

Um, you spat on me…

and i don’t stop laughing all day. said with such honest confusion, as in, why on Earth would you do that to me, dear tour guide?

my face feels flush and hot, as I’m already full of nerves at the start of the CBC newsroom tour – only my 2nd one – and this time to a group of 36 people, half of them 9 year olds. the 35 others that i haven’t spat on, as they are standing more than 6 inches from my face, are having a riot as this 24 year old woman tries to handle the rather humorous situation with grace. let’s just give ourselves an armslength of distance, shall we? i almost continue with the script immediately, but i can’t help sharing this completely awkward moment with the crowd a little longer. Now you know how we feel every day! Calls out one of the teachers. My boss stands at the back of the crowd, doing a swell job at holding back his laughter.

a 15 minute bike ride and i’m on commercial drive. half a french press, one whole conversation without room to spare, talking about places that don’t exist anymore, and customs that used to go with them, “he would put a barrel in front of the door after hours, and that way you knew that the party was still going on in the back…” Santos. north commercial drive. late 80s. a visible politic. we used them as codes, as passwords. she used to have a button that said something like, “Auntie May, I left the house, left the dog, and I’m leaving Kansas, love dorothy”… and it so spoke to me at that time in my life. I wore it every day.

not as concerned with the business, the hustle, the constant progress, and accumulation… poor broke bohemians, less fashion and more neighborliness.

and it’s echoed elsewhere. “this city needs to get a lot less wealthy, a hell of a lot faster. ”

Hey, The Future… he calls to the thirteen year old. you wanna try bike jousting?

“I see a huge generational disparity with people my age and older, the boomer generation, and their unwillingness to mentor people younger than them.” Threat of the new, precariousness toward the unknown, holding strong to an understanding, a tradition, a past.

“I see these really interesting organizations trapped in a model – a top town, authoritative, standard structure – and I see them losing place within the city.” Their unwillingness to decentralize, to expand their connection, and to extend invitation creates a exclusionary barrier. We’re not interested in that anymore.

In our grand rush to impart wisdom to the kids, may we take care not to spit in their face.

Leave a Reply

