cross.walk.


Glad we’re still alive, ladies. I saw that one coming.
At least that’s what I think he said as our trio of strangers safely crossed the intersection of Main and 8th. I clap my palm lightly on his big shoulder.. black sweatershirt.. balding… People these days, who knows. Talking on their phones, changing the music, whatever. Yeah, I agree with whole heart, but only half a mind. I’m at as much to blame for the near pedestrian-vs.-car-dance-off as the careless driver in the crosswalk mid-afternoon on a Monday. Earbuds tightly secured as I venture into the public realm. Don’t think I don’t think about it too.

My survivor and I diverge at the other side of the road, and I run for the bus. Cuz I’ll be 5 minutes late for class again. Always 5 minutes late. Often distracted.

Leave a Reply

